Life has taught me that it’s safer to go through difficult seasons alone than to trust the wrong people

Alesha Peterson
8 min readDec 25, 2022

--

We didn’t plan to become closed off to the world, but a lot of us were taught that it’s safer to go through difficult seasons alone than to risk being vulnerable with the wrong people.

We learned this lesson the hard way — we asked for help, only to be judged and ridiculed. We poured into people who never truly appreciated us. We didn’t just stumble, we fell flat on our faces — because there was no shoulder left to lean on. We looked around for our support system and saw an empty room. -Mitchell C. Clark

2022 update: Mindset Success Series! Part 2! People are asking me how I’ve managed to grow my Youtube lately. I have a lot of texts and DMS, see my Instagram if you are interested, I do not like to overly brag and I take it with a grain of salt to be honest. (I wish this enthusiasm was there at the beginning of my journey, but now I’ve reached one of my goals people take you more seriously.) To attempt to put a dent in my messages, I’ve been publishing a lot of reels on Instagram and now I decided to add in a few articles on what mindsets I had that got me to where I am today. It will be a while before I respond to everyone. Merry Christmas everyone!

It’s interesting, lately, a lot of people from my past have been reaching out. Most of those messages are going to voice mail (as I reminded people, I asked for space while dealing with medical issues, and I don’t think they are getting the memo. I don’t feel that great and sometimes don’t know which way is up. I really appreciate the support, but I’m kindly asking for space.

Being by yourself is better than being around unsupportive people, trust me. I have my people, but it takes me a while to trust due to my experiences in life.

In a world that pushes connection at any costs (and sometimes not realizing the feeling ain’t mutual, sometimes the people that you want to be friends with don’t want to be friends with you. In this case, leave them alone. Cut your losses, and keep it moving.)

Friends and a support system is good to have, but hear me out. Make sure these people are on your same page and wavelength. It’s better to be alone than with people who pretend to be your friends, but they are not good people.

My thing is nowadays, we either click or we don’t. Some friends are in your life forever, some are there for a season.

We didn’t plan to become closed off to the world, but a lot of us were taught that it’s safer to go through difficult seasons alone than to risk being vulnerable with the wrong people.

We learned this lesson the hard way — we asked for help, only to be judged and ridiculed. We poured into people who never truly appreciated us. We didn’t just stumble, we fell flat on our faces — because there was no shoulder left to lean on. We looked around for our support system and saw an empty room.

And as much as we don’t want to hold onto these parts of our stories, how could we ever forget how that felt?

Healing is a difficult, frightening process. Some days, we feel light. We can feel ourselves letting go of situations that used to trigger us. Other days, we feel the weight of every burden that we’ve ever carried bearing down on our shoulders and our spirits.

It’s heavy.

We wake up one day and decide that it’s better to be numb than to risk falling off of another emotional cliff. We decide to run from our feelings for another day, because it’s the only way we know how to keep moving. We decide that we’re better off pretending that everything is ok, even when it’s not. And this is valid. We can’t snap our fingers and become the people we were before the trauma. We can’t pretend to be okay until we are okay.

Healing takes work. We need a lot of time, space, and grace to walk the path towards restoration and uncompromising self-acceptance. Healing isn’t a destination, it’s a lifelong process — and I think we’ll all be better off acknowledging how hard it really is, while choosing to believe that it’s worth the effort.-Mitchell C. Clark

It’s interesting, lately, a lot of people from my past have been reaching out. Most of those messages are going to voice mail (as I reminded people, I asked for space while dealing with medical issues, and I don’t think they are getting the memo. I don’t feel that great and sometimes don’t know which way is up. I really appreciate the support, but I’m kindly asking for space. Now I realize some of those messages are from people wanting to hop on the bandwagon, at least I speak my mind, because trust me, when my YouTube was at 500 views, no one gave a f***. And please don’t take what I’m saying the wrong way. Too many people want to get in on the end when you have the bread, but no one is barely there when you on your journey, or worst, they try to undercut you every step of the way. I’m not famous, I just found my people, so really I don’t get at the core what the hype is all about. Then all of sudden, people are up in your face trying to get a slice. The nerve of some people crawling out of the woodwork or from your past when you get yours is unreal sometimes. )

References:

Mitchell C. Clark.

It’s 2022 . 🔥🙌

If you like what you’ve read, please recommend it so others can read it as well. Please tell me what you want me to write about here!

Interested in having my Medium stories sent to your inbox? Sign up here!

Interested in what I done? Check out my LinkedIn profile I barely use lol. I’ll update it to add the new current businesses I’m working on one of these days. I haven’t updated it in months.

--

--

Alesha Peterson

Howdy! Entrepreneurship, fitness, music, acting, real estate, tequila & investing is sexy. Idea for an article? Input wanted! https://linktr.ee/aleshapeterson