Scared To Start An Online Business? Why You Shouldn’t Be

Alesha Peterson
6 min readNov 14, 2016

--

You don’t have to be 100% perfect. You don’t have to be ready. You don’t even have to be sure.

But you do have to take the leap of faith in yourself to start an online business.

How many times do you fantasize and think about life with an online business?

Close your eyes for a second. And think about the “results” of having an online business (if you have anyone around to read this, great!)

Just imagine if you had a business that generated income while you were sleeping and while you were hanging out with friends at a bar. You text your friends saying “Hey want to hang out tonight” and they tell you “Well I don’t have much money but we can still go out.”

Your response? “You don’t have to worry about the costs. Just bring yourself and lets have a great time.”

Wouldn’t it be cool if you can share you passions with the world, and set your own hours? Imagine being able to sleep in that bed until 12 noon especially when it’s that cold, sticky, yucky rain that sends shivers up your spine. Imagine not having to wake up at 6:00 am anymore because you have to. If you get up at 6, it’s because you want to.

Imagine that you can buy food off the menu without worrying about the price at the fanciest restaurant in town. If the bill is $300, you don’t even flinch. If the bill is $600, you laugh. If the bill is $1000, you giggle. As you are paying your bill, you receive a text notification that one of your products sold. You just received another $5000 while eating food.

Imagine spending months in the Caribbean sipping on rum with your group of guys and gals. Imagine while everyone else is freezing their butts off at home, you are in the warm and clear waters of Fuji, being the envy of your peers back at home.

How about never mentally worrying about paying bills ever again? How about never worrying about the cost of anything again?

Now open your eyes.

You want an online business. You read blog posts about it. You secretly envy someone else who is doing it.

So when presented with the opportunity to build our own online business, the questions of doubt sets in. Why does this run in your head? “I can’t afford it, instead of looking for ways to afford it. And then what’s worst, you come up with reasons why you can’t do it.

Fear #1: The Questions Of Doubt Pops In

Do any of these questions pop in your mind?

  • I don’t have no clue where to start.
  • I don’t have the time.
  • What if I don’t have the connections?
  • What if I’m a beginner?
  • What if I don’t have a huge email list?
  • I don’t have a website.
  • I don’t have a business idea. What do I do?
  • What if I live in a small town?
  • What if I try this and don’t follow through?
  • My family and friends don’t support me.

These are very legit fears.

Even if someone is doing something you want to do, and you know that many people have done it, instead of trusting yourself, The Questions Of Doubt Pops In. Does this sound familar?

Have you noticed when you try something new, your mind plays Jedi Mind tricks and tries to tell you reasons why it won’t work? Scenarios of you being broke, not being able to pay rent, and not having money to hang out with friends sets in. Your friends telling you “You should have kept your job” starts setting in.

The differences between the people with successful businesses and you? They believed in themselves anyways. They trusted themselves enough to acknowledge the fears and kick them to the curve. Even though they are scared AF, they keep going!

Even when I perform on stage, I notice I get really hot and I get a weird feeling in my throat. I still get on stage anyways and rock the crowd.

There are times when I got nervous about doing business transactions with clients. I called anyways.

During auditions, I transform any nerves into the scene I’m playing.

Fear #2 “I’m too busy”

We all have the same 24 hours.

Photo Credit Goes To Camilla Stenmark/Mastermind Event

For 2016, I really stopped getting on Facebook, I stopped creeping on Instagram as much and I noticed a difference. I’m managing to grow my engagement on my social networks, I’ve written a blog post a day (even though I had a slight medical issue that’s slowing things down), and things are taking off. And yes a business of mine is doing great.

Fear #3 “I don’t have the money”

We say, “I can’t afford that.” And that’s legit. I know when I was asked to work with an real estate company, they were asking for $50,000. I even said damn. When I see a program that asks for $1,000, nowadays I don’t freak out as much (because I’ve seen a lot higher).

I considered this:

  • Instead of freaking out over cost, look at the VALUE that you can add to yourself and others. I have to say growing up being around family and friends that always focus on the cost of products, this hard for me to shake. It takes a shift in mindset. Instead of saying $60 is a lot for a meal, why not say “Hey we can do this.” It’s going from “I can’t afford this” to “How can I afford this?”
  • The cost of missing out. Have you noticed when you pay for something, it made you take actually get to work on it versus getting something for free? I had someone tell me that they will never give their course to anyone for free, even if it’s someone in their family. They said they won’t appreciate it if you don’t make them pay.

Fear #4: I KNEW IT. I KNEW THIS PROGRAM WOULDN’T WORK FOR ME. I don’t know why I tried it.”

Are you a person that fishes for an reason to use to not take action and move forward? And once you found a weird reason not to join, suddenly you felt liberated to justify “not doing it”.

After you look at all the scenarios in your head of why it won’t work, you choose not to go through with it because it’s too risky, according to your brain. As a result, you remain stagnant, then life doesn’t transform into something better for you staying stagnant.

Winners approach it differently, even if it’s scary. “Look, I know no course can be 100% perfect for me. But if I believe this material works, and I have faith in myself, I’ll make it work, no matter what.”

Fear #5: I Started My Business Two Weeks Ago And I’m Not Making Money

You won’t build an online business overnight. And trust me, for most people, it will take longer than two weeks. Just because you don’t make money right away doesn’t mean it’s a failure. Give it time and get a step by step system that will help you.

When I started, I wasn’t an expert. I’m still not an expert. To be honest I’m just getting started.

As I write this, I’m still learning. P.S. You won’t build an online business overnight.

Hello! I’m Alesha! I’m a musician, actress, entrepreneur and writer and recent hospital patient (I still can’t believe that is real). Follow on Twitter. If you like what I’m writing, give me a heart and share! :) I like hearts. Let me know what you want me to write! Click here!

--

--

Alesha Peterson

Howdy! Entrepreneurship, fitness, music, acting, real estate, tequila & investing is sexy. Idea for an article? Input wanted! https://linktr.ee/aleshapeterson